Monday, September 26, 2011

Boy Set Sail- We're Almost There

Boy Set Sail is a 4-piece pop punk band from South Wales. They've been making music since 2010, and released this EP this past summer on I Am Mighty Records. Boy Set Sail is Gareth Jones (vox, guitar), Chris Russel (vox guitar), Nathan Towell (drums), and Sam McManus (bass). RIYL New Found Glory, Take The Floor, Four Years Strong, The Rocket Summer

"Rewind" starts off the EP in the best of ways. It's very ADDICTIVE pop punk with a great beat and catchy melodies. The vocals are very classic pop punk vocals- cute and smooth, but still powerful. "Believe" has some awesome harmonies, and that's what sticks out the most to me on the track. I really like how well the instruments work together, it's a very well-oiled machine. "You Are" has some great lyrics and it's a great sing-along song. It's one of those songs you can just get into, you know? It's simple, but there's a lot to it. "All These Things" is my favorite. The music is interesting and explores with some different sounds, and it's a nice little "ballad." Lastly, "This Time Around" is an awesome way to close the EP. Like the rest of the tracks, it has a certain tone to it that you can't help but love.
Overall, We're Almost There is a great album. Boy Set Sail is a band to be looking out for, because they're only going to get better.


No comments:

Post a Comment